Family Reunification process: Work, Legal presence and Pregnancy

This forum is dedicated to all our English-speaking members.
Please feel free to ask your questions here!
Emily og Jacob

Family Reunification process: Work, Legal presence and Pregnancy

Indlægaf Emily og Jacob » 16.01.2017 14:22:25

Hello!

My name is Emily an I am an American journalist who has been working in France on a visa for the past 16 months. My Danish boyfriend and I have been traveling back and forth to visit eachother, and we recently got engaged to be married this month, here in Copenhagen. We plan to submit our application for family reunification in Denmark immediately following our marriage (we have been told that this process can now take up to 10 months).

My danish boyfriend is a native of Denmark owns an "andelslejlighed" and has a "selvstændig virksomhed" where he works as a freelance film editor. He hasn't received any government support since receiving his SU during his studies which finished in 2009.

I do not have health insurance in Denmark, as I have been living in France, but we have just found out that I am pregnant. We hope that you can give us some guidance about our situation during the Family Reunification process.

A.
I know that I'm allowed to be living in Denmark during the processing of our Family Reunification application, on a procedural permit, but that I am not allowed to work during that time, and that I won't be given a CPR number -- and access to Danish healthcare -- until the application is accepted.
A1. How is a pregnant, non-EU citizen living in Denmark on a procedural permit supposed to have access to health care?
A2. If we are supposed to pay out of pocket, how much can we expect we will pay in scans, blood test, birthing visits with midwives, and the actual birth itself?

B.